On Trail Running And Business

I just started running again, now that the snow and ice have finally melted away. I prefer to run on the miles of trails that traverse the woods and wetlands behind our house. Those trails are challenging because they are filled with large rocks, tree roots, broken tree branches, and other natural obstacles on which one can trip or roll. As a result, I tend to look at the ground just a few feet in front of me while running.

Makes sense, right? Yes, well, at least until you get whacked in the head by a small, overhanging tree branch. It happened to me today. I was so focused on the ground in front of me that I forgot to look down the trail periodically to spot obstacles that weren’t on the ground. Thwack!

That sharp rap on the head, which I can still feel two hours later, was a good reminder to me, and I hope to you too. Be in the present, but also take note of trends affecting the near future. Don’t be so heads-down, focused on the details of your work, that you forget to look up and observe what’s coming down the trail. What you don’t see can hurt you.

One response to “On Trail Running And Business

  1. Pingback: Filtering in Social Software: Protective Bubble v. Serendipitous Awareness | Together, We Can!

Leave a Reply

