Breathe In, Breathe Out, Move On

katrina-on-radar-091005Jimmy Buffett penned a great song after his native Gulf Coast had been devastated by Hurricane Katrina.  Like most Buffett ballads, it has a memorable tune and great lyrics.  But one doesn’t need to go further than the title to find the full message — Breathe In, Breathe Out, Move On.  Jimmy’s sage advice to Katrina victims was collect yourself and move forward.

I don’t mean to compare my lot with the suffering of those caught in Katrina’s path, but I am experiencing a setback that reminds me of Buffett’s song.

I have been laid off by IBM after 4+ years with the company.  Today is my final one as an employee of Big Blue.

I won’t go into the circumstances of my employment termination here, because I think it isn’t appropriate to discuss such things in public.  I certainly wouldn’t use this medium to rant against IBM for any reason.  I’m simply sharing the news of my layoff so I can begin to move forward, hopefully with your moral and active support.  Breathe in, breathe out, move on…

I have been a thought leader, researcher, consultant, and educator in the domains of collaboration and knowledge management for the last 10 years.  I would like to continue to work in that realm, as my passion is helping people connect with others so they can do whatever they do more efficiently and effectively.  While I’m not sure what my next role in this ever-evolving space will be, I do know that I have no interest in working under a body shop consulting model — ever again!

As I move on, I will appreciate receiving any information about relevant job openings and business opportunities that you can pass my way.  You may contact me at any of the following:

Twitter: http://twitter.com/lehawes
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/lehawes
e-mail: lehawes@gmail.com

Thanks in advance for your assistance while I’m seeking employment.  I will, of course, continue blogging, twittering, and otherwise making my views known on collaboration and a wide variety of other topics.  I look forward to continuing our conversations both during this personal transition and after I’ve settled in a new job.

8 responses to “Breathe In, Breathe Out, Move On

  1. Sorry to hear about your leaving IBM. Having worked with you on a knowledge management project at IBM and seen the great work you did on building a governance model for an enterprise portal, I am confident that you will be of great value to your next employer sometime very soon. Best of luck.

  2. Larry, that’s indeed sad news. I will keep my eyes and ears open and forward any relevant offers. In the meantime, I very much hope you keep on blogging, twittering…simply engaging in conversation as promised. Your contributions and thoughts are very valuable!

  3. Hi Larry – I am very sad about your departure. Unfortunately, you are in good company…which makes me even sadder.

    I wish you the very best in this next phase of your life journey. Maybe the wondrous part of it all is, I look forward to being a part of it on twitter and here on your fabulous blog. I also hope we have the opportunity to work together in this crazy world we live in. Jen

  4. Larry, just to reiterate what I said in BlueTwit, I’m extremely sad to see you go! Next week, I lose several more of my friends and co-workers! 😦

    On the other hand, I’m looking forward to stay connected with you through the wonderful world of social software. If I hear of any opportunities, I’ll send them your way!

  5. It’s always sad to hear a fellow IBMer to depart…

    I will follow you here and in other social media…

    Good luck!

  6. Many thanks to all who have commented here for your best wishes! I appreciate your support and will continue to be in touch with you, both professionally and socially.

    Larry

  7. Hey Larry, my former fellow IBM’er. I’ve been there my friend. After 17 years they let me go to fill my position with some body from South America. I hooked up with former co-workers. Network my friend. Best wishes and keep your head up, breathe in, breathe out, move on!

    Chuck B

  8. Chuck: Many thanks! I’m glad to hear that things worked out well for you post-IBM. I am networking heavily, including people that I have worked with at a few different companies. All will turn out well in time. Peace!

Leave a Reply

