Farewell and Onward

Last Friday was my final day on the analyst roster at Gilbane Group. My parting was voluntary, amicable, and done after much thought. I will always be grateful to Frank Gilbane for providing the opportunity to return to the analyst role and rebuild my public reputation as a thinker and problem solver. I anticipate that I will continue to be involved, in some manner, with the Gilbane conferences, which are structured as a separate legal entity from Gilbane’s research and consulting business now owned by Outsell, Inc.

I have chosen to leave Gilbane in order to better take advantage of the work opportunities that are presenting themselves with increasing frequency. In the days ahead, I will continue and build upon the advisory work that I have been doing since April through my own business, Dow Brook Advisory Services. The mission and business model underlying Dow Brook are quite different from Gilbane’s. In fact, I believe that Dow Brook’s subscription advisory service is a better way to serve companies that create and sell enterprise software than are the offerings of most established analyst firms. Time will tell…

There are several other business opportunities swirling about as well, including part-time and contract research and consulting projects. I am also open to any exceptional offers of full-time employment. I intend to give it my all as an independent analyst, but will remain open to any and all career possibilities.

In the short-term, you will probably not notice any changes. I will still be tweeting, blogging, etc. as I have for the last two years. I will still engage all of you to share, learn, and work together. The only real difference is that it will be done under the Dow Brook brand, as well as my name.

So here’s a toast to the past and one to the future! I am looking forward to making the future together with you. Cheers!

13 responses to “Farewell and Onward

  1. Good luck! I look forward to reading about your new adventures in the months ahead. Cheers!

  2. best of luck, happy to help in anything you need as you get going!

  3. Good luck to you Larry, look forward to seeing what’s ahead for you.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Farewell and Onward | Together, We Can! -- Topsy.com

  5. Hi Larry! WOW!! Congrats on the big move and the new adventure about to begin! I am sure you would be doing just fine, my friend! Like usual! It’s great to see how you will continue to do what you are really passionate about and I really look forward to finding out how things will be moving along in such exciting times as the ones we are living today! Best of luck and you know where you can find us! ;-) hehe

    Cheers!
    @elsua

  6. Best of luck Larry! Look forward to keeping in touch with you in your new role.
    Frank

  7. Sincere thanks to all who have left good wishes in their comments to this post! Nothing that I have accomplished so far would have been possible without your involvement and support. I’m sure that will be true in the future as well. Thank you for being part of my professional life!

  8. Frank: Thanks for your best wishes. I appreciate all you have done for me professionally and personally. I sincerely hope we will do more than stay in touch by exploring appropriate ways to work together. Cheers! – Larry

  9. Congratulations Larry! Looking forward to catching up again soon.

  10. Larry, sounds like a great new adventure. Gotta keep growing, right?

    We’d love to you have as a moderator on http://KMers.org anytime.

  11. Belated congratulations on your new role. I had been away from blogs for a while, but back now.

    I browsed around the Dow Brook website, cool stuff. Are you building analytics as well?

Leave a Reply

